Templenoe GAA Website

Division 1, County Senior Football League, Round 10.

Templenoe 2-13, An Ghaeltacht 0-16.

Templenoe hosted An Ghaeltacht in the penultimate round of the County league last Saturday evening, in what was also a repeat of last year’s County Intermediate Football Final. This time the result went Templenoe’s way after gutsy display saw the home side edge out the visitors by three points.

An Ghaeltacht who played with the assistance of the breeze in the first half opened the scoring through Tomas O’Se. However, the home side quickly demonstrated they were up for battle when they replied with two points from Teddy Doyle either side of a Killian Spillane effort, before both men subsequently combined to put Pat Spillane through for Templenoe’s first goal. This made the score 1-3 to 0-1 after just seven minutes of play. Three pointed frees from Dara O’Se gave hope to the West Kerry side, but Killian Spillane who was getting the better of veteran Marc O’Se responded with two points to maintain Templenoe’s advantage. An Ghealtacht though were now beginning to enjoy a purple patch and they soon started to reel in Templenoe’s lead with a brace of points courtesy of Franz Sauerland, Eanna O’Conchuir along with a few from the impressive Dara O’Se to cut Templenoe’s lead to just one point. In between An Ghaeltacht almost had a goal only for a fisted effort from Roibeard O’Se to come off the crossbar after a long ball in from Padraig O’Se. Yet at the same time, Templenoe did manage to keep the scoreboard ticking over for thanks to efforts from Killian Spillane and Denis O’Neill. The latter briefly restored Templenoe’s lead to two points, but the West Kerry side retained their momentum and added four more scores just before the break to give them a two points cushion, with Dara O’Se (3) and Roibeard O’Se splitting the posts.

Half Time Score: Templenoe 1-7, An Ghaeltacht 0-12

Templenoe used the half time break to regroup before going out to have a great opening twelve minutes to the second half. Two points from Killian Spillane preceded a second goal for Templenoe after a great solo run up the field by Teddy Doyle saw him open up An Ghaeltacht’s defence before giving a precision pass to Denis O’Neill who slotted the ball to the net. The home side went on to extend their lead with Josh Crowley Holland and full back Kieran O’Neill both getting forward to prove their scoring capabilities. This made the score 2-11 to 0-12 after 41 minutes. An Ghaeltacht popped over two much needed scores from Dara O’Se and Tomas O’Se either side of a Templenoe close range effort from Martin Reilly. Then a wonderful free from Teddy Doyle from over 45 yards sailed all the ways over the crossbar, following a foul on Stephen O’Sullivan. Templenoe were now in a strong position, but An Ghaeltacht were not done. With time running out An Gaeltacht launched a frantic attack which ended with Tomas O’Se been fouled just inside the square and the referee duly awarded a penalty, while Sean Sheehan picked up a black card for his endeavours. The resultant spot kick was well saved by keeper Anthony Sheehan and full back Kieran O’Neill was hand to divert the ball out for a 45 to prevent any rebound effort from the visitors. An Ghaeltacht continued to press, but the Templenoe defence were equal to the challenge, as the West Kerry side ultimately had to settle for two consolation points from Eanna O’Conchuir and Dara O’Se.

Final Score: Templenoe 2-13, An Ghaeltacht 0-16.


Templenoe: Killian Spillane 0-6 (0-1f), Denis O’Neill 1-1, Teddy Doyle 0-3 (0-2f), Pat Spillane 1-0, Josh Crowley Holland 0-1, Kieran O’Neill 0-1, Martin Reilly 0-1.

An Ghaeltacht: Dara O’Se 0-10 (0-5f), Tomas O’Se 0-2, Eanna O'Conchuir 0-2, Fran Sauerland 0-1, Roibeard O’Se 0-1.


Templenoe: Anthony Sheehan, Tom Spillane, Kieran O’Neill, Joseph Sheehan, Josh Crowley Holland, Danny Cahalane, Kieran McCarthy, Teddy Doyle, Sean Sheehan, Denis O’Neill, Pat Spillane, Pat Clifford, Stephen O’Sullivan, Killian Spillane, Martin Reilly.

Subs: Eoin Murphy.

An Ghaeltacht: Shane O’Grifin, Ciaran O’Ceilleachair, Marc O’Se, Adam Mac Amhlaoibh, Colm O’Muircheartaigh, Padraig O’Se, Cathal O’Garbhia, Franz Sauerland, Eanna O’Conchuir, Gearoid Mac An tSaoir, Dara O’Se, Ciaran O’Coileain, Sean O’Bambaire, Robeard O’Se, Tomas O’Se.

Subs: Fergal O’Cuanaigh, Cathal Mac Gearailt, Liam O’Bambaire. 



Templenoe GAA Main Sponsor

Templenoe Team Sponsor



Division 1 County SFL, Dr Crokes V Templenoe

24.05.2019 - 19:30 o'clock

Division 1 County SFL, Dr Crokes V Templenoe Friday 24th May at 7:30pm in Dr Crokes GAA Grounds

Kelloggs Cúl Camp

GAA Latest News